Here is how you can install Compiz Fusion with a terminal!

This is the little part I left out in how to install Compiz Fusion with a terminal, I mentioned but I forgot to tell you how to do it. I decided to make another post because it was kind of hard on the other one and Im lazy right now, anyways. One thing I forgot to mentioned in the other post is that when you try to enable “desktop effects” and you get this error

\

note:this is an old picture I had, is Ubuntu Gutsy, I do not if does the same thing with Ubuntu Hardy.

What you need to do is install is the xserver-xgl in a terminal type:

sudo apt-get install xserver-xgl

after you do this restart the computer.

for you to be able to customize Compiz you need to install Compiz Setting Manager and Emerald open a terminal again and type:

sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager

and

sudo apt-get install emerald

you can find them in “Systema> Preference > Compiz Setting Manager“ or you can hit Alt+F2 and type “ccsm“ and it should look like this

On the left panel you have a “Plugin Search” for an easy search or you just can hit over a category if you now what you need or want to configure. I hope this works, peace. Please if you have any questions leave a comment I would do my best to help you I’m not the most expert one but I had some experience my self.

2 thoughts on “Here is how you can install Compiz Fusion with a terminal!

  1. Nice 🙂 But few mistakes the code to install CCSM is sudo “aptitude install compizconfig-settings-manager”‘ w/o quotes Remove emerald from there and change the Heading.. AS you are installing compiz not the Ubuntu OS 😛

Leave a comment