Cairo Dock

Here is people, Cairo Dock… the first dock i always used was Awn Dock, the Dock I always wanned was Kibba Dock, which looks cool by the way, but after I installed Cairo Dock its changed my mind, I didn’t really think that it will look and change so easy, and yes like it too. So I think u should try it and make your own opinion about it.

It is compatible with Compiz-Fusion, Beryl, Compiz, and also Xcompmgr, but it can run without a composite manager (with fake transparency). Cairo-Dock can run under GNOME, KDE, and XFCE.

How to install Cairo Dock

Cairo Dock is really easy to install…..

First download the two DEB latest packages from this link ,

1. The cairo-dock_v1.6.0.2_i686.deb

and

2.Then cairo-dock-plug-ins_v1.6.1.2_i686.deb

and simply double click them;

one at the time first the Cairo-dock package and then the Cairo-dock-plug-ings and thats really it.

To find it on your system Go to Aplications-System Tools-Cairo Dock and there is….. The first time The dock runs will send you to the Theme manager so make your pick, customized and have fun !!!

This dock has many different themes and u can add or remove applets, make stacks, change the main dock and sub-docks, change the way this ones display and more………

I like this one !

The specification page is here , I don’t know how would it works in a 64 bit system, but if u need any help just let me know .

2 thoughts on “Cairo Dock

  1. Your Ubuntu desktop looks amazing! I also have 8.04 Hardy Heron installed on my laptop, but it’s 64-bit. I’m having dependency errors trying to install Cairo-Dock and it’s not working. I can see it when I go to Aplications>System Tools>Cairo Dock. But when I try to launch it nothing happens. But the one thing that I would really like to know from you is, how did you make your Ubuntu fonts look sooooo nice? I can’t stand the ugly default fonts, this to me is the biggest issue, it makes me want to give up on Ubuntu. I’ve tried installing MS fonts, True Type fonts, and Red Hat Liberation fonts to make Ubuntu look better but I still can’t get it to look right. Maybe I’m installing it incorrectly, I don’t know. Can you please tell me how you did it on yours? Thanks.

    • Im sorry it took me so long to reply but to change the look of the fonts is not that hard you do not have to change anything just do the following. Go to System>Preferences>Appereance once you are on that windows click on font tab then you click on “Detail” button and for the first option choose “Subpixels (LCD), and then for “Hinting” choose Slight you will see that the fonts look a whole alot better and just click “Close”. Hope this works. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

