Kiba Dock

Hello people today is an exciting day for me because I finally have Kiba Dock install in my Ubuntu 8.04. I been trying to install Kiba Dock since I install my first Ubuntu system (which was Ubuntu Edgy Eft) becasue I couldn’t never get it to work I decided to install AWN. Well finally today it was the big break through and I will show you how to do it.

If you are asking your self What is Kiba Dock, Kiba Dock is a dock, in other words a way to access programs and windows in an interactive manner. One of the most common example today Mac OS X dock. Kiba Dock is specifically designed for Linux operating systems KDE and Ubuntu are the ones where people uses it the most, However, unlike the other systems available, it uses the Akamaru physics engine to render complex interactions.

Lets Get Started. In order to use Kiba Dock you have to have Compiz Fusion, Beryl or Compiz installed and running. Note: this is only for 32-Bit systems.

1. – First you have to install the dependencies. Open a terminal and leave it open trhough out the whole process.

sudo aptitude remove automake1.4

After that type this whole code like it is

sudo apt-get install fakeroot automake1.9 build-essential libpango1.0-dev libgtk2.0-dev libgconf2-dev libglitz-glx1-dev librsvg2-dev libglade2-dev libxcomposite-dev subversion libtool libgtop2-dev python-gtk2-dev libgnome-menu-dev libgnomeui-dev libgnomevfs2-dev intltool libxml2-dev libglitz1-dev libcairo2 libdbus-1-dev libgtop2-7 libgnomevfs2-0 libgnomeui-0 librsvg2-2 python-feedparser libasound2-dev libsdl1.2-dev libdbus-glib-1-dev libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-dev libgstreamer0.10-dev libgstreamer0.10-0 pidgin-dev libpurple-dev

2. – Now we have to make the directory for Kiba Dock. Type each line one by one

mkdir kiba-dock

cd kiba-dock

Code:

svn co https://kibadock.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/kibadock/trunk/akamaru/ akamaru

Code:

svn co https://kibadock.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/kibadock/trunk/kiba-dock/ kiba-dock

Code:

svn co https://kibadock.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/kibadock/trunk/kiba-plugins/ kiba-plugins

Code:

svn co https://kibadock.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/kibadock/trunk/kiba-dbus-plugins/ kiba-dbus-plugins

3. – Type each line one at the time.

Code

cd akamaru/

./autogen.sh –prefix=/usr –exec-prefix=/usr

sudo make install

cd ..

Code

cd kiba-dock/

./autogen.sh

sudo make install

cd ..

Code

cd kiba-plugins/

./autogen.sh

sudo make install

cd ..

Code

cd kiba-dbus-plugins/

./autogen.sh

sudo make install

cd ..

4. – Now all that is left to do is type this and that should be it.

kiba-dock

After you type this on the terminal it should just said Kiba Dock or some thing like that, I forgot to take a screen shot of it. To Find Kiba Dock Go to Applications>Accessories>Kiba-Dock. If you want Kiba Dock to start up with the computer just Go to System>Preferences>Sessions and under start-up tab Name:Kiba-Dock, Command:kiba-dock.

Note: I am not trying to take the credit for this work I just followed the tutorial in this page Source

And Soon I will show you how to install Cairo Dock!

12 thoughts on “Kiba Dock

  1. Hi, I installed kiba, but, seems like it don’t have akamaru, because I can’t move the icons like the videos. can you help me?. I have ubuntu 8.04.

    I’m sorry for my bad english.

  2. I’ve never actually heard of this program before and by the description of the Akamaru engine I read, it sounds crazy. I need to get linux running on this computer again just to have fun with it.

    Just wondering one thing before I try it; did anybody get this working on Debian testing?

Leave a Reply

